***PLEASE NOTE: IN-PERSON CLASSES WILL START POST-COVID 19 ONCE STAFFING HAS FILLED***
Gateway Driving School's greatest strength is that our driver's education program begins with the quality of the school's instructors. All our driving instructors are licensed by the State of Maryland and are subjected to federal background checks.
Driver's Education (Classroom) - This course is required by MVA for new drivers in Maryland.
It is 36 hours of driver's education.
Part I - 30 hours Classroom instruction.
Part II - 6 hours In-Car driving practice with our MVA licensed instructors.
You will have to get a learner's permit in order to drive, but you can start the classes without it. Everyone, regardless of age or experience, is required to get a learner's permit. In the state of Maryland.
UNDER 25 Requirements to take MVA Test:
- Hold your Learner's Permit for 9 MONTHS
- Must have 60 HOURS of driving practice, Ten (10) of those 60 Hours Must be at Night. Plus the 6 Hours Driving Instruction that comes with our Driver's Ed package.
OVER 25 Requirements to take MVA Test:
- Hold your permit for 45 DAYS
- Must have 14 HOURS of driving practice. Three (3) Of those 14 Hours Must be at Night.
Gateway's Driver Education Program is approved by the Maryland Department of Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). The MVA program requires the students to take a minimum of 30 HOURS of Classroom Instruction and 6 HOURS of behind the wheel instruction. The course familiarized students with basic rules of the road and teaches Defensive driving strategies. The program is also designed to teach the physical and emotional aspects of driving and the legal and financial responsibilities of driving.